October 02, 2019

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Resolution to Mark Energy Efficiency Day in October

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) cosponsored a resolution, led by Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Rob Portman (R-Ohio), to designate October 2, 2019 as “Energy Efficiency Day” and to mark October as “National Energy Awareness Month.” The resolution celebrates and promotes the benefits, both economic and environmental, that result from steps by industry and government to improve energy savings.

“I’m so proud that Nevada’s businesses, conservation groups and public servants have led the nation in promoting clean energy—and incorporating energy efficiency further helps us achieve our goals. When we use energy more efficiently, we lower costs to consumers, government and industry and reduce pollution and carbon emissions. Pursuing energy efficiency also creates good paying jobs in the Silver State and across the country, as Americans work to find innovative ways to streamline energy use in our appliance, transportation, manufacturing and construction industries. I’ll keep working to make sure we protect both our economy and our planet with commonsense measures like this.”

In addition to Senators Cortez Masto, Shaheen, and Portman, Senators Michael Bennett (D.-Colo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.), Thomas Carper (D-Del.), Susan Collins (R.-Maine), Christopher Coons (D.-Del.), Tammy Duckworth (D.-Ill.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Joe Manchin, III (D-W.Va.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) cosponsored the resolution.