June 12, 2019

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Resolution Recognizing June As LGBTQ Pride Month

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) joined 46 Senate colleagues in introducing a resolution to recognize June 2019 as “LGBTQ Pride Month.” Introduced by Senator Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), the resolution celebrates the significant contributions of LGBTQ individuals to American life, while also promising to continue fighting for an end to discrimination and injustice.

“Nevada is home to one of the most vibrant LGBTQ communities in America. During Pride Month, we celebrate the courage, creativity and diversity of LGBTQ Nevadans who enrich our state and contribute to our communities every day. Pride Month is also a time to recommit ourselves to the fight for equality for all Americans, from protecting against discrimination in the workplace and in housing, to protecting transgender kids from bullying in our schools, to ensuring that homeless LGBTQ youth have resources and support to rebuild their lives. As we continue to face an Administration that divides our country and passes hateful bans, I’m so proud to stand with my colleagues in support of the meaning of pride: acceptance, equality and love.”

In addition to Senators Cortez Masto and Brown, U.S. Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Benjamin L. Cardin (D-Md.), Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.), Robert P. Casey, Jr. (D-Penn.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Michael Bennett (D-Colo.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.) and Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.) also cosponsored this resolution.

Full text of the resolution is available here.


The 2019 Pride Month Resolution honors the significant contributions LGBTQ Americans make and have made to this nation in virtually every field. The resolution also acknowledges the struggles faced by the LGBTQ community throughout our country’s history and the milestones and triumphs of the equality movement.