May 17, 2019

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Resolution Honoring 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) joined Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and every other female senator in cosponsoring a resolution celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, which guaranteed women’s constitutional right to vote.

“As the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment approaches, we should celebrate the milestone that opened the door for women’s participation in politics and recommit ourselves to ensuring that the right to vote is protected for all Americans. Women have been the leaders behind countless political and social movements that pushed our nation toward equality. From Anne Henrietta Martin who traveled rural Nevada in a rented Ford Model T during the summer of 1914 to rally support for women’s suffrage, to the young volunteers who fought to pass automatic voter registration in 2016 to ensure all Nevadans can access the polls, women are vital to the health of our democracy. I’m proud to commemorate the efforts of the women’s suffrage movement and highlight women’s continued role in fighting to protect our constitutional rights in Nevada, and across the country.”

In addition to Senators Cortez Masto, Murkowski and Baldwin, U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Martha McSally (R-Ariz.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.) and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.) are also cosponsoring this resolution.