March 13, 2017

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Legislation to Rescind Trump’s Muslim Ban 2.0

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Senate Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and 35 Democratic colleagues today introduced a bill to rescind President Trump’s discriminatory executive order barring immigrants from six Muslim-majority countries and suspending the U.S. refugee program.

“President Trump should have learned from his mistake the first time he made it – that his Muslim ban is immoral, illegal and un-American,” said Cortez Masto. “This ban is nothing but a religious test against Muslim immigrants and it must be rescinded immediately. Contrary to the Administration’s anti-immigrant and anti-Muslim rhetoric, it will do nothing to improve our national security and will only antagonize our allies in the Middle East. It is now up to Congress to right this wrong, uphold our American values, and reject this abhorrent executive order.”

In addition to Senator Cortez Masto and Senator Feinstein, the bill is cosponsored by Senators Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.).