December 04, 2019

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Bill to Honor Famed American Cyclist Greg LeMond

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) joined Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.) in cosponsoring the Greg LeMond Congressional Gold Medal Act to award a Congressional Gold Medal to Greg LeMond for his contributions to America as an athlete, activist, role model and community leader.

“I’m delighted to recognize Nevada’s own Greg LeMond for his service to this country. Greg is a towering figure in American sport and an icon to all who watched him wear the yellow jersey in the Tour de France. Since retiring from cycling, Greg has contributed his time and effort to so many important causes, from childhood sports to victims of sexual assault to those suffering from childhood illnesses. He exemplifies both Nevadans’ independence and their devotion to community.”

In addition to Senators Cortez Masto and Sinema, Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Tina Smith (D-Minn.) are cosponsoring the legislation.


Gregory James LeMond was born in California but raised near Reno, Nevada, where he spent much of his time outdoors. He attended Earl Wooster High School in Reno. At age 18, he became the youngest cyclist in the history of the sport to be selected for the United States men’s Olympic team. Greg first competed in the Tour de France in 1984, finishing third, deputizing himself to boost his teammates toward victory. In the 1986 Tour de France, he defeated the field by more than three full minutes, becoming the first American and the first non-European to win cycling’s most prestigious race. In 1987, while recovering from a broken wrist and collarbone, Greg was tragically shot during a turkey hunting accident, leaving him in intensive care and requiring the removal of over 40 shotgun pellets from his abdomen. Following multiple surgeries, Greg mounted a comeback, winning the 1989 Tour de France by eight seconds in the closest finish in the history of the Tour. Greg went on to win a third Tour de France victory in 1990.