March 08, 2019

Cortez Masto Cosponsors Resolution to Recognize Legacy, Contributions of Indigenous Women

Washington, D.C. – Senator Cortez Masto (D-Nev.) joined Senators Tom Udall (D-N.M.) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) in introducing a resolution to celebrate and honor the successes of indigenous women across the nation. The resolution recognizes the heritage, culture and contributions of American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian women in the United States, highlighting the importance of promoting equity, providing safety and upholding the interests of strong, diverse women.

“American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian women have contributed tremendously to the history and culture of Nevada and the United States,” said Senator Cortez Masto. “Native tribes ranging from Paiute to Shoshone were the first to shape our country, and we must honor their lasting legacies and contributions every day. Yet the federal government has ignored the unique challenges faced by indigenous women for far too long. That’s why I’ve sponsored legislation to end trafficking of Native Americans, empower tribal governments to prosecute offenders of domestic violence and combat the crisis of missing and murdered Native women. We must all work to promote the well-being of indigenous people and celebrate indigenous women like Sarah Winnemucca, whose social activism has made Nevada a better home for all.”

Full text of the resolution is available here.

In addition to Senators Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tom Udall (D-NM) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Mazie Hirono, (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (I-Maine), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Martha McSally (R-Ariz.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Bernard Sanders (I-Vt.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) also cosponsored this resolution.