MIL23063 TRN S.L.C.

118TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES.

Commending and congratulating the Vegas Golden Knights on winning the 2023 Stanley Cup Final.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Ms. Cortez Masto (for herself and Ms. Rosen) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on _____

RESOLUTION

- Commending and congratulating the Vegas Golden Knights on winning the 2023 Stanley Cup Final.
- Whereas, on June 13, 2023, the Vegas Golden Knights won the 2023 National Hockey League (referred to in this preamble as the "NHL") Stanley Cup Final;
- Whereas the 2023 Stanley Cup Final is the first Stanley Cup Final won by the Vegas Golden Knights in the 6 years in which the franchise has competed in the NHL;
- Whereas, on their way to winning the 2023 Stanley Cup Final, the Vegas Golden Knights defeated—
 - (1) the Winnipeg Jets in the first round of the playoffs;
 - (2) the Edmonton Oilers in the second round of the playoffs;

MIL23063 TRN S.L.C.

(3) the Dallas Stars in the Western Conference Finals to win the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl; and

- (4) the Florida Panthers in the Stanley Cup Final; Whereas, during the 2022-2023 NHL Season, the Vegas Golden Knights—
 - (1) won a franchise record 51 games during the regular season and set a new team record with 111 points scored to clinch their third Pacific Division Championship; and
 - (2) had Head Coach Bruce Cassidy and 2 All-Stars, Logan Thompson and Chandler Stephenson, represent the franchise at the 2023 NHL All-Star Game in Sunrise, Florida;

Whereas, during the 2023 Stanley Cup Playoffs—

- (1) Adin Hill of the Vegas Golden Knights set a NHL Playoff record by achieving 11 wins in a single postseason after making his debut in the second round; and
- (2) Jonathan Marchessault of the Vegas Golden Knights won the 2023 Conn Smythe Trophy, which is awarded to the most valuable player in the Stanley Cup Playoffs;
- Whereas the entire Vegas Golden Knights roster contributed to the 2023 Stanley Cup victory: Mark Stone, Alex Pietrangelo, Reilly Smith, Adin Hill, Michael Amadio, Ivan Barbashev, Teddy Blueger, William Carrier, Paul Cotter, Jack Eichel, Brett Howden, William Karlsson, Phil Kessel, Keegan Kolesar, Jonathan Marchessault, Nicolas Roy, Chandler Stephenson, Nicolas Hague, Ben Hutton, Alec Martinez, Brayden McNabb, Brayden Pachal, Shea Theadore, Zach Whitecloud, Laurent

MIL23063 TRN S.L.C.

Brossoit, Jire Patera, Jonathan Quick, and Logan Thompson;

Whereas behind the Vegas Golden Knights roster is a team of coaches and support staff committed to enriching the Las Vegas community on and off the ice;

Whereas the Vegas Golden Knights deserve special recognition for their continued work to provide hope and unity to a grieving Las Vegas community since their inaugural season in 2017-2018, following the Route 91 tragedy that occurred on October 1, 2017; and

Whereas the Vegas Golden Knights represent their loyal fans, the Las Vegas community, and the entire State of Nevada with a commitment to excellence: Now, therefore, be it

1 Resolved, That the Senate—

5

6

7

8

- 2 (1) congratulates the Vegas Golden Knights 3 and its loyal fan base for becoming the 2023 Na-4 tional Hockey League Stanley Cup champions; and
 - (2) respectfully requests that the Secretary of the Senate transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to members of the Vegas Golden Knights' ownership, management, and coaching staff, namely—
- 9 (A) the Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, 10 and Governor of the Vegas Golden Knights, Bill 11 Foley;
- 12 (B) General Manager Kelly McCrimmon; 13 and
- 14 (C) Head Coach Bruce Cassidy.